State Archives of Belgium

Our collective memory!

FR | NL | DE | EN

State archives in Liège

Texte petit  Texte normal  Texte grand


Rue du chéra 79
4000 Liège
  How to get there

T : +32 4 252 03 93
F : +32 4 229 33 50
05/01/2019 - Various
Best Wishes 2019

The National Archivist and the staff of the State Archives wish you a wonderful year 2019 !

30/10/2018 - Digitisation

The State Archives holds a real treasure of cartographic materials, but handing out original maps and plans in the reading rooms bears the risk of deteriorating the state of conservation of these documents. Indeed, repeated unrolling and rolling-up of these maps and plans that are sometimes of considerable size has taken its toll on the documents, which called for a large-scale digitization campaign. In recent years, some 60,000 maps and plans were digitised. This number increases steadily. Roughly 44,000 of these digital images have been processed and are now available for research.

20/07/2017 - Events - Liège - Royal Palace - NAB
State Archives exhibition at Royal Palace

As each year, the Royal Palace opens its doors to the public during summer. Two of the three exhibitions shown there are co-organised by the State Archives! Discover them from 22 July to 3 September 2017. Free entrance.

Two hundred years ago, on 18 June 1815, the famous battle of Waterloo was fought. The State Archives conserves hundreds of linear metres of records from this period that can be searched with archive guides, inventories, historical studies, etc. A number of events are also organised this year in relation with the commemorations.

In order to let the general public discover the rich archival heritage on the First World War, the State Archives launched a new dedicated website in August 2014: It is filled with a variety of interesting documents, including letters, posters, photographies, minutes, etc. The website is in French.

Head of Service: Anne Jacquemin.

Archivists: Laurence Druez, Bernard Wilkin.

Reception, Reading Room and Stacks Management: Sabine Breuer, Gilbert Hendrickx, Nadine Hendrickx, Marc Lannoy, Franck Malherbe, Noëlla Neuray, Thierry Noiroux.

Maintenance: Sylvie Mezino, Félix Renier.

Share this page : e-Procurement